Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 31 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter #1
First I should say hello to all and a brief intro . Been studying the 4 R's since 1964 ( Ride em, Race em, Reck em , Repair em). So yes I have a few miles and broken bones to qualify as an enthusiast . Now for the help I need. Proud owner of a Red Chieftain and having trouble getting my Zumo 665 with XM and Bluetooth to maintain connection. After giving up on that idea I then went to a FM modulator to get xm into the Indian radio, fail. Last resort is the USB connection but first need to make or find a stereo headset to USB dongle. Will this work or am I destined to karaoke on the roll. ߘ

G

·
Discussion Starter #4
OK what I'm understanding is you want to use the satellite radio through your GPS and feed it into the Indian sound system? While I have no experience with the Chieftain at all, I have my doubts that a USB/headphone jack cable exists.
I have a Bluetooth capable system on our 98 Electraglide and we have several different items that SHOULD pair with it but do not. My GARMIN GPS is one of the DO NOT items. They will find each other when I try to connect but they always fail to connect. I also have problems with the Garmin connecting to my helmet headset as well so the problem may easily be the Garmin GPS.
As for the bluetooth stereo, that is for my wife. I drive, she controls the stereo. She connects her phone to the stereo and has it stream her music/XM Radio/or even her phone calls. As long as she's actually on the bike the bluetooth connection is fairly good, however if she is standing a couple feet away from it, to the side, it's spotty at best.
With the question of the Indian Chieftain stereo, I'd give Gregory Polaris in Arkansas a call and see what they have to say about it.
EASY

G

·
Discussion Starter #5