Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I really like the look and style of German army WWII looking motorcycle helmets.
Irregardless of their safety issues (being not full-faced helmets), would you wear one? Is it disrespectful to wear one, to the "greatest generation" folks? To veterans, in general?(I'm a Vet and I don't know).
Any thoughts? I know I just have to go with my gut feelings on whether or not to buy or wear one, but I'd like to get some other riders' opinions on this. Thanks!!!

·
Rider
1,576 Posts
Can you post a picture for an example? I’ve not heard or know of any disrespect coming from the type of motorcycle helmet someone was wearing maybe some stickers or art work that may be on one possibly?

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Can you post a picture for an example? I’ve not heard or know of any disrespect coming from the type of motorcycle helmet someone was wearing maybe some stickers or art work that may be on one possibly?

·
German Rider
1,640 Posts
I am German. I wear one on hot days.

Model : AFX FX-88
IMG_20190612_163716.jpg

Cu,
Sven

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #9

·
German rider
710 Posts
Some will find it offensive because of it being part of the Nazi uniform.
After WW2 this Helmet was/is popular in german FireFighters, the THW (kind of "technical-only" National Guard), the governments guards of honour and the famous GSG9 Special Forces.

I rode the GALVANIA (with ECE in Size XS only), and the "Big German".
It is ok for slow speeds, but on my naked bike expieriences the helmet´s side flank acts like a wing and lifted up.

·
Registered
1,793 Posts