Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I started playing around with my 2016 Chieftain to try and remove the windshield rattle (pretty much as per the directions found on YouTube looking for "Indian Motorcycle Power Windshield Rattle Fix v2.0") and immediately found a problem which, from the low, low levels of my mechanical expertise, I cannot seem to come out of...

The idea, if I'm not mistaken, is basically to put a sort of a shim in front of the windshield "screw" to stop it from jerking back and forth and, to do that, you need to remove two small screws holding the "lid" of the above mentioned mechanism. As a picture is worth a thousand words, here it is:

rattle02.jpg

The two screws are in the yellow box. Here's the problem: there's a metal edge right in front of the screws (red arrow) which prevent me from reaching them with any type of screwdriver. I tried, following the directions in the video, removing the two bolts (one of them is "kinda" visible at the bottom in the image) holding the metal plate but to no avail. There isn't even the slightest sign of movement...

Does anyone have a clue on how I could get to those darn screws? Any idea would be much appreciated.

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2,028 Posts
Howdy @mzuli ,
I have a Phillip's that has the point bent at a 90 degree angle on both ends; you should be able to find one at the auto parts or hardware stores. It also appears that the screw heads protrude enough to grasp them with a small set of Vise-grip pliers and give them a sharp twist to break them loose. As an old shop teacher I seldom advise the use of pliers on otherwise undamaged screws but in a case like this, if you're careful, it should do the trick.
Good luck! --- Randall

·
Registered
257 Posts
Hi everyone,