Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Roadmaster w/BBK116
345 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I guess it had to happen sooner or later, just got my new Pursuit last week and have 300+ miles on it. Getting close to that first breakin oil change and I’ve been using Amsoil in my bikes for years ( not to start an oil topic ) so I rode up to the dealer and went to make my first 180’ turn on a 2 lane, not really sure what I did but down I went. Luckily or to my misfortune a gentleman was working on his lawn and helped right it. I might add I’ve been riding for 50+ years and have never dumped a bike that I can remember including the past 1800cc + including Roadmaster, Chieftain, Victory CCT, M109 and others. I have commented on how much better handling this bike is guess I’ll have to watch those real sharp turns a little more. Might add no scratches that I can see even the van that stopped behind me didn’t even bust balls too bad after telling me about his Harley.

·
Registered
2012 Indian Chief Vintage . 2016 Indian Roadmaster
1,225 Posts
I have heard it said, as have you, "There are two kind of riders, those that have wrecked, and those that are gonna wreck". Or something like that. I'm glad you ain't hurt and the bike is good.

·
Rider
1,317 Posts
That really sucks brother! Hope you and the Pursuit are okay! Ride Like a Pro has the best U-Turn how-to's I have seen, easy to understand and practice. Ride safe and practice your U-Turns! =)

Jerry does mention that the Indian does hit full lock than sooner than a Harley Electra Glide, which makes turning a tiny bit more challenging.

His course done on Indian Challenger

·
Registered
331 Posts
After multiple shoulder surgeries, the last being unsuccesful, I no longer try to go full lock on the bike, mainly because I no longer can. Just means looking at turning differently.

·
Registered
2020 Indian Challenger
18 Posts