Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody,
Because my wife cut my new bike fund so I cannot afford a Challenger anymore. Scout might be the only Indian way to go for me (I just not prefer the FTR).

I have been riding Vulcan 800 Classic for more than 10 years and have been on several trips (well, no more than 400 miles a day). And I feel like I want another more powerful bike. I have an eye on indian since 2014, yes, 2014. As a newly college grad, I work so hard to earn some bucks. Finally, scout is within my reach.

However, since scout is pretty small and I always ride 2-up on the vulcan with my wife, I am a bit worried about comfort. I am 176 lbs 5'9", my wife is 99 lbs 5'3". We rented a 2018 Chieftain Limited for a trip around Massachusetts before, yes it was comfy.

Anybody has some experience on both bike (Vulcan 800 and scout) please share about the comfy on Scout compared to the Vulcan when taking a long ride about 350 miles. I don't expect it to be as comfy as those Indian's heavyweight, but if it is better, it's gonna be worthy moving to Scout.

Thanks in advance! ?

·
Bronze member
2,691 Posts
Well.. I have a '16 Scout with the 2-up Touring package..

With its' stock suspension and with my 235 lbs on the bike, I have to be careful around town on "bad" roads. It can "bottom out" and hurt my back if I am not careful.. With two 111's sitting next to the Scout, 2-up'ing on the Scout never happens. Newer Scouts have better suspenders.

Like your Vulcan, it gets "blown around" a little more on the freeway, compared to the heavyweights..

A Scout weighs the same but has waay more HP than your Vulcan. ( some specs indicate the Vulcan 800 @ 42 hp, others show it as high as 56hp - the Scout is 100hp, and low/mid 80's at the rear wheel..)