Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Rider
569 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Thinking about converting the directional lights to running lights on my Chieftain. Is removing the taillight assembly (3 screws) as easy as the Custom Dynamics video makes it appear? I am not a gifted mechanic. : (

·
Bronze member
5,097 Posts
The taillight assembly on my Springfield fell off a year or so ago, all the screws loosened and dropped out along the road. I noticed it hanging from the wiring as I was fuelling up. I taped it up until I got home to fix it.

The three screws holding it are accessible, but the tyre really gets in the way. The biggest problem for me was lining them up with the holes in the fitting. It's almost impossible to get into a position where you can see the screws as you try to get the thread started.

If I were to do it again I'd have the bike on a lift so the rear wheel drops away as far as possible to make it a bit more roomy for the spanner. Second thing I'd do is grind the ends of the screws into a short taper so they find the hole before the thread has to be matched up. Don't forget thread locker.

Seeing the tail light hanging upside down at the fuel stop made me wonder what it was like for others on the highway as I changed lanes and the indicators were indicating back to front.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Thinking about converting the directional lights to running lights on my Chieftain. Is removing the taillight assembly (3 screws) as easy as the Custom Dynamics video makes it appear? I am not a gifted mechanic. : (
No not hard - but dirty and a pain to get to. 3 bolts and about 30 mins. - Had to get the right tools for it. Might be easier if you drop the rear wheel.

·
Registered
54 Posts