Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was getting a tire installed last week and in the waiting area picked up a Cycle World magazine with a lengthy and positive article about the new Indians by Polaris. The article stated that you can shift gears without using clutch. I have a new Roadmaster ordered but have not received it yet. Can those forum members that have been riding the new Indians tell me if that is correct? It was stated that the transmission is the quietist motorcycle transmission on the market as well.

·
Texas Hill Country
4,697 Posts
Congratulations on your new Road Master!

Quiet transmission?
I guess it depends on what kind of bike you came from.
5 speed Harleys had a 3rd gear whine.
6 speed Harleys had a 5th gear whine.
The Indian transmission has neither.

However, it does clunk into gear. Not at all objectionable to me because I'm used to that noise.
It doesn't "snick" into gear like some metric bikes that I have rode.

I don't know about shifting without the clutch, I haven't even tried.
I've always thought that was like trying to catch a bullet between your teeth...especially on a new bike that is still a little stiff.
I used to do it all the time on my Road King but I had nearly 300,000 miles on that transmission.

·
Registered
2,543 Posts
Never rode a bike you could not shift without the clutch. You just have to match engine and transmission rpm and then feel it into the next gear

·
Registered
15 Posts
Soooooo.....Just what do you think is to be gained, or proven by not using the clutch?
As smooth and effortless as the Indian clutch is to pull, why would you feel the need not to use it?
Sure doesn't make a lot of sense to me.

·
Texas Hill Country
4,697 Posts
Well, like I said, I haven't even gotten around to trying it yet on my Indian.
So obviously it is not some burning need.