Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Getting ready to do my annual oil change on my 2015 Roadmaster. Going to continue using Amsoil V-Twin oil. I have been using 20W-40 but would like to get your thoughts on the 15W-60 oil use in the RM. What does Indian say about using it? Would seem the thicker oil would be great in the summer heat.

·
Rider
678 Posts
Synthetic 15W-60 is the recommended oil for the Scout which according to Indian is also approved for use in their 111 TS engines. I have been using their 20W-40 oil kits for the past two years while under warranty. However, my warranty just expired and I plan to start using Synthetic 20W-50 or similar from this point out. I live in Texas, and with the heat and the fact that these are air cooled bikes, I think a heavier weighted oil would be beneficial.

·
Registered
1,793 Posts
I live in the hottest spot in the lower 48 where people actually live. I use the scout oil in my 111. It has no oil cooler. Runs superb.

·
Registered
1,793 Posts
I can tell you that after 5000 plus hard miles, my oil comes out looking pretty fresh - the scout oil, in my opinion, also helps the engine run quieter.

·
Rider
1,568 Posts
A fellow member posted the article from Indian saying the 15 W 60 is acceptable and can be used in the 111. About mid April of this year I hit my 5,000 mile service and oil change. My mechanic advised me of this change and said he been using it in his wife bike. What noise I have left in the motor after the stage 2 cams and Craig B tune... changing to this oil got rid of the last bit of noise I heard. Bike runs smooth I’ve got about 200 miles on this oil and I’m gonna stock with it.

·
Registered
545 Posts