Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am running a generic slip-on. As this is my first bike, I'm absolutely terrified that I am going to burn an exhaust valve, or that I have some sort of pre-ignition. The bike seems to run fine, and I can only force it to pop by running the bike high and cutting the throttle so that the engine is braking. But I've read this is normal.

Because this is a generic slip-on I don't have any hardware to mount the slip-on to the frame other than it bolting to the main pipe. It fits pretty sturdy, but is this a problem?

I've been looking at buying the @Xchoppers EJK + slip on combo. Do I need their muffler so that I have a proper mounting bracket, and to what possible warranty issues will I run in to if something breaks.

IE: If something goes wrong mechanically, how quickly will they point to the EJK?

I'm no mechanic, but I sure do wish I had more concrete information to put my mind at rest. The last thing I want to do is damage my bike. Wondering if the EJK is a permanent alternative solution to spending a ton for a tune.

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2,948 Posts
The ejk shouldn't have any effect on warranty. The popping you get is most likely from lack of back pressure with your aftermarket pipes. You could find some baffles to increase that back pressure a bit and reduce the popping. (HardKrome makes some nice ones).

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2,948 Posts
I've got gman fuel commander similar to the ejk setup. Been running it for a year and a half with a kn intake and stage 1 pipes. No issues at all.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I don't get much popping at all. Only if I really try to. Debating just putting stock back on so I can quit worrying about it.

·
Registered
200 Posts