Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Bronze member
1,237 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many of you guys have seen the factory recommendations for how to set the positions of the piston ring end gaps? In the shop manual and in the instructions that come with the Stage 3 kit, they tell us to align the top and second compression ring end gaps one-above-the-other! WTF?
I've been building engines for a few decades and have NEVER seen a factory or non-factory publication that says to do such ring alignment. It simply flies in the face of over a hundred years of known IC engine design & development. What could the OEM be thinking?
Granted that any performance lost or oil consumption derived by placing the compression rings in alignment will not likely be great, so long as the end gaps aren't excessive. But combustion pressure pushing the rings outboard will also be effected. Could it be that they want to minimize outboard force at the second combustion ring with this concept?

Attachments

·
Bronze member
3,164 Posts
How many of you guys have seen the factory recommendations for how to set the positions of the piston ring end gaps? In the shop manual and in the instructions that come with the Stage 3 kit, they tell us to align the top and second compression ring end gaps one-above-the-other! WTF?
I've been building engines for a few decades and have NEVER seen a factory or non-factory publication that says to do such ring alignment. It simply flies in the face of over a hundred years of known IC engine design & development. What could the OEM be thinking?