Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Silver member
5,038 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly certain, as I am not a newbie, that my bike has a slipping clutch. I have 30K on my 17. If I get on it it jumps up to 4,000 k, but doesn't grab the rear wheel.

I am sure it is the clutch. But why would it die at 30K?

What are the thoughts on Barnett, vs. Indian, vs. Indian high performance clutch?

·
Rider
944 Posts
Did to check the free play? Does it need adjusting? Who does the maintenance? Has the clutch lever been lubed at the proper intervals?

·
Registered
2,640 Posts
Sounds like you need to adjust your clutch cable.

·
Bronze member
1,725 Posts
The clutch in the 111's are merely adequate and if there is insufficient play in the cable that is enuff to apply slight pull to the pressure plate and cause the clutch to slip. At 30,000 miles the cable and the lever pivot pin should be lubed. If after this is done and proper cable play established and the clutch slips than it's time for a new clutch. Go with the Barnett xtra plate kit along with a new barnett cable.

RACNRAY

·
Registered
207 Posts
I had changed to full synthetic oil (Mobil 1) for a time, and noticed the same thing. There's a hill on my daily ride home where I like to get on the throttle, so I can be consistent in my testing. I'm now running Rotella T, and the problem is much improved (maybe gone). Just over 21 K on my '18... interesting topic, actually.

·
Bronze member
1,725 Posts
I had changed to full synthetic oil (Mobil 1) for a time, and noticed the same thing. There's a hill on my daily ride home where I like to get on the throttle, so I can be consistent in my testing. I'm now running Rotella T, and the problem is much improved (maybe gone). Just over 21 K on my '18... interesting topic, actually.