Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I live in Colorado and noticed on my SDH that passing speed seems really slow/ sluggish to me. Like it struggles to pass. I know the SDH isnt a sport bike, but still.

I recently bought this bike used 8k miles from a dealership here. The bike had been lowered and had V&H slip ons. I do not know or see that any other mods were done. I traded the V&H slip ons for factory ones (too loud for me). The exhaust plugs on the oems I took in trade are missing so assume the guy I traded them for knocked them out already. I have checked the pipe clamps so dont think they are leaking at that spot. I use premium gas. Checked the exhaust head pipe nuts for 15 ft lbs torque using my torque wrench. One on each could tighten a very little but not much, the other two didnt. I'm not a mechanic, and only do minor simple things like oil changes etc..

Not sure why passing takes a while. Is this normal or is something a miss? With the exhaust plugs out, shouldnt I have more pep not less?

Been thinking about having the computer flashed with a PV3 from Dyno/ Fuel Moto but I dont know much about it other than what I have been reading up on in forums recently. It's a bit confusing to me, not having done it before. Not sure if previous owner flashed it and the factory exhaust is causing the issue? From what I've read about slip ons, it shouldnt matter, right?

Please excuse me if these are all simple questions, just trying to learn and get my bike right.

·
Rider
719 Posts
Unless your previous bike was a sport bike, you should be very satisfied with your passing performance of your SDH. Regardless if you are passing someone at 55 or 85 you should have no problem and should detect instant and very smooth fast acceleration. Go to your dealership and test ride another large Indian and then make the determination if yours feels off.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #3