Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am adding a cell phone holder/charger. I need to run the cable to the battery. I have a 17 roadmaster . Any suggestions on how to run the wire so I don’t have to worry about it melting on the engine?

·
Registered
317 Posts
I ran mine from the battery under the "split" between the two gas tanks. Straightened out a clothes hanger and taped the wire to on end and just slid it up. Removed the tape and pulled the clothes hanger right back out.

·
Registered
317 Posts
That looks easy . Unless you have an iPhone which it states won't charge at all. Personally I bought a USBC car charger and soldered it into the battery. It has an online fuse and also doesn't have an LED for any power draw when off. It also supports all the latest and greatest quick charge technology... So I don't even have to leave the phone plugged in all the time...charges the phone in minutes

·
Registered
64 Posts
Hold on a sec. I'm looking for a video for you. There's actually a plug behind the right side of the fairing that you can reach with fingers and tap. It takes an adapter and USB port cable. Total cost is like $15 or $20. You get 2 ports! Easy to do. Let me see if I can find the video and the parts I used.

·
Registered
64 Posts
This isn't the one I was looking for but it is the same process. I can't look up my part on the phone but he talks about what you need. I got both at Amazon.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #8

·
Registered
64 Posts
Thanks. I may to that route. The unit I bought charges the phone without plugging it in but needs to connect to the battery. If I can't get that done ill probably switch to a unit that just uses usb.
I'd love to see your process and items. Take photos so everyone can benefit from it.

·
Registered
64 Posts