Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I used to never even consider a reverse gear to be necessary, based on my ability to think ahead with regard to parking, and my youthful strength.
I'm 66 now, I don't think ahead as well, and my youthful strength is a beautiful thing of the past.
If my conjecture that touring bikes are marketed towards the more "mature" age group is correct, why hasn't Indian, along with everyone except Harley, introduced an electrically-driven reverse gear to alleviate the anxiety and facilitate the ability of older riders to navigate tricky parking situations?
I've been riding on 2 wheels since I was 2, so it's not like I'm a clumsy newbie, I'm just old (never thought I'd get here)!
Does anyone know if a reverse gear is in Indian's future for the heavier touring models?
Thanks!

·
Registered
553 Posts
Like you I'm 66 and I started at age 6. I had Goldwings from 1996-2018. Used reverse maybe 5 times and probably 3 of those was showing off. I had a habit of backing into spots and just never quit doing it I guess. But I will admit that it was nice to know I had it, even if I didn't use it.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Like you I'm 66 and I started at age 6. I had Goldwings from 1996-2018. Used reverse maybe 5 times and probably 3 of those was showing off. I had a habit of backing into spots and just never quit doing it I guess. But I will admit that it was nice to know I had it, even if I didn't use it.
That's a good point Racer! Nice to know you have it, even if you only need it when you spazz!

·
Bronze member
5,097 Posts
Some Victory bikes had an option of reverse gear. A friend of mine with one says that the way it sits into the gearbox looks like it should also fit the TS motor, but that's only his guess. They would still have to do the engineering to set it up.