Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 16 RM, replaced stock Dunlop E3’s last year with E4’s. Brought it in for 20K service and dealer says rear tire is starting to show a little cupping at about 4K miles on the tire. After about 2k miles on new tires I noticed the rear tire jumps from 39psi to 50psi in under an hour, this is much faster than the E3 did, it would rarely climb that high unless I was riding hard in 85+ degree weather. Dealer says shock or riding too much straightaways might cause, but also said the shock seems fine.

Any idea on the issue, dealer said not likely to get any warranty support from Dunlop. Anybody ever get a tire replaced by the factory with similar issues?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
373 Posts
I have a 2018 roadmaster I bought new in 2019. I am just about to roll over 10k. I noticed some minor cupping on my rear tire while I was looking at my belt for wear. But it didnt look really bad to me. Maybe I need to investigate more. We did complete a saddle sore over memorial weekend so definatley long straight hard riding in temps around 100 degrees in west texas.

·
Rider
943 Posts
cupping is usually caused by an imbalance. The rise in pressure would seem normal to me in the temps you are riding in.

Driving habits are also a cause braking to hard, overloading the bike. Improper air pressure can also cause it. There are others as you found out worn suspension parts can contribute. But since you have been told that the shock is good then maybe checking the balance might be next.

·
Rider
1,160 Posts