Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Indian Chieftain Classic, Stage 1 setup (Modified Stock Exh, Wimmer intake, PV3 tune by FM)
157 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my wife is wanting to upgrade her Chieftain to a simple stage one set up. She has swapped out the exhaust and is waiting on her air cleaner. In looking at tuners I know the PV-3 is capable of a lot but she doesn't want to do anything further with her bike. I'm assuming the PC-V can compensate for the modifications but I'm not 100% sure on how the two tuners are different. Is it that the PC-V adjusts fuel trims on the fly to compensate for the mods and the PV-3 rewrites the ECU basically? Sorry if this sounds dumb but I'm still learning the tuning process. If all she wants to do is to be able to run her new intake and exhaust would the PC-V be sufficient?

·
Registered
502 Posts
From my understanding, and many will chime in, the V has to be left on the bike and tucked away, which if you've seen under the seat....not much room? The 3 is a flash tuner and can be removed. I believe the tunes are the same.

·
Bronze member
1,890 Posts
I am a 44year professional motorcycle mechanic with over 23 year werking with Dynojets fuel injection products.

DO NOT waste money on the PCV as it does not have the capabilities of the PV3, nor does it perform any tuning on the fly unless you spend TONS of money installing wide band sensors on the exhaust along with the auto tuner. The PCV also requires installation and on the Indians it is one of the biggest pain in the ass installs.

The PV3 requires NO installation other than "pairing" the unit to her skoot (done electronically) and thru the PV3 so many aspects of engine performance is altered far and away more so than what a PCV can do.

Contact Fuel Moto who are sponsors on this site.

RACNRAY

·
Bronze member
2,292 Posts
I am a 44year professional motorcycle mechanic with over 23 year werking with Dynojets fuel injection products.