Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hold your laughs, I'm new to the motorbike world and I just had my first visit to the gas pump.

I know some states can be different but where I am in NY, the rubber surrounding the gas pump needs to go up to a certain height before the safety is off and the gas will flow.

I can't get the pump far deep enough into the gas tank hole for that to happen so I had to use my hand to pull it up. As a result while pumping little drops of gas ricochets out, making a mess of my hands and tank.

So how do you properly fill a tank without making a mess?

Sent from my LYA-L29 using Tapatalk

• Haha
Reactions: DDBCK

·
Registered
538 Posts
I hate filling my Scout up. I have heard the FTR is much worse...I cannot imagine worse!

·
Registered
3,502 Posts
I’m down here in environmentally reckless South Carolina, so I’ve never seen the sleeves you have issues with. If it were me, I’d fill up a 2 gallon gas can (with a good nozzle) while in my car and take it home to fill up the bike. Then, fill the tank slow while traveling outside of your home area.

Bubba

·
Bronze member
2,101 Posts
Take your gloves off.

Get a paper towel from the windshield cleaner kiosk.

You fold it so that one surface is across your fingers touching the rubber surround and the rest is laying over the back side of your fingers and the last part is laying against the tank (you've made an open-sided mitten out of the paper towel, takes 1 second).

Be sure to have the spout all the way in against the tank inner stopper (where the spout can't go in any further).

Then pull up on the surround.

Do not try to add more once the pump auto-shuts off to fill the last couple of mm of space that is left, as you will have gas kick back up onto the tank.

The spouts shut off very accurately now, and 98% of the time you will have no issues.

The hardest part is remembering to get the paper towel.