Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2,120 Posts
I had the same thing happen when I did my 500 mile initial oil change on my Chieftain #873 (which I bought from Barnett as it happens). The 1st plug came out and went back in nice and smooth. The 2nd took more effort to unscrew, and when I screwed it back in it just kept turning. I couldn't believe it, I worked as a motorcycle mechanic for years and I never stripped a drain plug. I got it back out (with some effort), laid the bike over on it's side on the crash bar and drilled and tapped the hole for an over-size plug from the auto parts store. I figured that Indian wasn't going to warranty a stripped plug, and maybe it was my mistake anyway (also I'm 5 hours from El Paso and was in the school machine shop when it happened). I've had no further problems on subsequent oil changes. Its very interesting to hear that others have had the same problem and I will let Barnett know about my experience.
--- Randall

·
2,120 Posts
Howdy
I had an issue with my Chieftain soon after I picked it up where the tire pressure dash display was showing "-----" front and rear; the pressure when checked with a gauge was fine. I had to go to Odessa and swung by Black Gold Indian/Family Power Sports. They re-flashed the computer, under warranty, even though I had not bought the bike there (as they should have) and I've no further problems with it.

As for the stripped drain plug, I suspected, due to the effort in removing it, that it might have been over-torqued at the factory; there was also some possibility that it was my doing. In any case I was a long way from the dealer, had the tools to effect repairs at hand, and needed the bike running if I was to get home that evening. All's well now but I have sent a letter to Polaris Customer Service describing what happened.