Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have installed an oil cooler (p/n: 2880668) yesterday to my 2016 Springfield and would like to share some info so that might be useful to anybody going this way.
First, I decided to do it myself mostly because: (1) I like working on my bike by my own hands even though I'm not a pro mechanic but I just enjoy the process and (2) I don't like anybody else doing something on my bike or car without me seeing the process and I don't trust the work quality at the dealership.
Anyway - that was a free (!) 500mi service on my bike that was initially included with bike purchase. They told me it will take 2.5-3hrs and the after approx. 1.5 I have looked outside and saw my bike parked in front of the main entrance. I thought: ok, may be they will test ride it or anything so I waited another 1.5hrs after I've been told by the service guy that my bike is ready. I'm a picky guy so I decided to check the oil level and I noticed that they changed it (the color was lighter than the one of the brake-in oil) but I noticed that the oil filter looked kind of dirty and I asked him: haven't your techs 'forgotten' to replace the oil filter may be? He ran in and out and confirmed that it was replaced too. I have also told him I'm going to install an engine cooler myself, how much oil i should add and can I buy a quart of oif from you now? He again went back and consulted with somebody than told me 'you don't need any extra oil, you are ok' and 'sorry, we are out of stock of those small cans of oil'.