Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Names Nova. Purchased a 2000 Chief in red and cream about 2 months ago in rockford, IL. The guy who sold it to me said the bike was his buddys who passed away and the last time it was ridden was 10 yrs ago to the funeral. Whether thats true or not is irrelevant- its a used bike with 16k miles and theres no telling what issues exist without going through it with a fine tooth comb.

A little bit anout me: I am a DIY internet schooled mechanic. I source info from youtube and other forums. I wrench to save money but more importantly to gain knowledge, experience, and to learn the bike. This will be my first time wrenching on a motorcycle.

I chose this bike because i like harley and indian cruisers and the gilroy indians look like the love child of the two.

I wrench on the weekends when time permits but with no garage if the weather sucks i cant get much done. It is my goal to give this bike a second life and to share my wisdom with others as there are no maintenance videos or how-to's on these bikes other than the manuals which has me scratching my head most of the time. Anyways thanks for having me. I have some write-ups to post and a host of questions when you guys are ready.

·
Living the dream!
267 Posts
Please post pictures, I for one love Gilroy era machines. Also, I would seriously consider a shed if you have the space. Anyway, glad you are here.

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Names Nova. Purchased a 2000 Chief in red and cream about 2 months ago in rockford, IL. The guy who sold it to me said the bike was his buddys who passed away and the last time it was ridden was 10 yrs ago to the funeral. Whether thats true or not is irrelevant- its a used bike with 16k miles and theres no telling what issues exist without going through it with a fine tooth comb.