Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Vendor / bronze
2,917 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ride a 2016 Springfield and use it for designing and testing new products. I have been using a Tan dual Corbin seat for several years now. My wife doesn't want to ride (but she is a killer cook). Anyway, I decided to get rid of the dual seat (it is for sale). I want a solo seat and I thought since I have trouble doing things the normal way.....I should design a springer seat for the 111 bikes. (There may be some available on the market already.) I am making my very low and using a silicon foam rubber. I am also going to make the first one with a turquoise colored alligator pattern leather. Here are some photos of the design process. Feedback wanted. I am making this for me. If it becomes a product, I don't know yet. Note that all of the tan will go also and I will add accents of turquoise. And the front end will come down 1/2". I am experimenting with how much to make the back part turn up. For those of you that don't know I design for Thunder Works at www.IndianAftermarket.com
IMG_0508.jpeg
IMG_0509.jpeg

·
Silver member
4,971 Posts
Reactions: Geoff-3

·
Vendor / bronze
2,917 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I agree. I plan to make the back very vertical so you don't feel like you can slide off the back. One thing I don't like is most mounting packages are flimsy. I want the seat to feel solid. So the front pivot is very wide and solid.

·
Bronze member
2,565 Posts
The problem with Mother Road's seat is not the seat but what they must do to cover up what's under it. To me it looks awful. Especially the vinyl covered option. IMO, if you could come up with a way to cover up the junk under the seat without it looking like a poorly designed cover, you would have something. The problem is with the aluminum frame in this area. Not sure how you could fabricate something that connects to the side panels.
The Scout doesn't have this problem.
MRC.jpg

·
Vendor / bronze