Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5,917 Posts
Here is a side pic of that rubber piece from the side And what is this for. Do I have to lift gas tank to remove it. No where did any install instructions mention this. Thanks I’m just new to all this.
You have circled the crankcase breather vent hose in that image. I am not familiar with the VooDoo filter, but there are only two options for that breather hose... either run it into the back of your filter and the engine will ingest any vapors present, or run it into a small auxiliary filter of its own and just clean it up once in awhile to remove the oil residue. Most prefer the latter as that way it does not contaminate the inside of your air filter assembly with oil.

·
Registered
276 Posts
I just did this install two days ago. Yes, take off the seat and there are two bolts on either side of the trailing edge of the tank (have metal and rubber washers). You just need to prop the tank - I used my left shoulder to nudge it up to access the bolt (I think 8mm). Nothing else on the tank is affected, pretty easy.
Just had it reflashed at the Indian dealer with the provided card...dont lose that!...and it is awesome! Even pulls hard in touring. Sport is a riot. You will be happy

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
5,917 Posts
The breather hose is a push fit into the valve cover vent tube. It simply can be rotated to suit your install requirements. You do not have to remove fuel tank for any of this install, but it may prove useful to take the rear brackets loose so that the tank may be partially lifted/tilted out of the way.

·
Registered
556 Posts