Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Texas Hill Country
4,697 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
At 60 years old a fella might ask himself.....Is it too late to dream?

Back in September of 2013 The First Lady and I set a dream in motion.
Our dream of retiring to The Texas Hill Country.
We bought a little ranch in Ingram Texas, in the heart of The Hill Country.

The only "fly in the ointment" was that I'm still several years away from really wanting to retire.
I love what I do, and it is a damn good thing, because I have been doing it for the past 32 years.
So The First Lady moved to Ingram to get the new place dialed in and I stayed behind in New Orleans to continue my career...that was a tough one.

In March of 2014 I bought my Indian.
Like you, I fell in love when I saw the Indian for the first time.
But to buy a new bike when everything else in my life was geared toward retirement?
The First Lady in Texas, me in New Orleans, and I'm foolish enough to buy a new bike?
To take on 5 years of payments?
After all, my daily commute here in New Orleans is only about 15 miles, round trip.

I reconciled my crazy actions with a plan to ride my Indian back and forth to The Hill Country on my time off.
That plan has worked well for me. I have enjoyed every mile of that 700 mile turn, there and back.
So after 11 months of ownership I have managed to put 10,000 miles on my Indian.
Not bad for a guy who is still working full time!

The single "perk" that pushed me off the fence when I was considering Indian was the unlimited mileage 5 year warranty.

But remember....I'm going to use this bike for daily transportation in a personal routine that included a 15 mile per day commute to and from work....crazy to worry about something like unlimited mileage...huh? Even with the occasional trip to Texas thrown in....the whole thing didn't make sense if I was thinking with my head and not leading with my heart.