Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... I am now at the 500 mile mark and it’s time for my break in service . I wanted to know who does their own, or if they have a plan through Polaris or a dealership.

Those do have a plan , how much does everyone pay annually.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,291 Posts
Have always done my own maintenance and repairs. Pretty easy to do. Do a search on this Midsize section for a free Maint. Manual download. When changing your oil , use the correct grade,weight and a good filter ( or just use the Scout oil change kit). And always save your receipts . Get a small notebook to keep dates,mileage and any other notations, changes you make, modifications,etc. Not trying to take anything away from the dealers. I used to wrench for a living. Just in my opinion, I see a lot of inexperienced mechanic wannabes now-a-days. I trust no one else to do any work on my vehicles or bikes., but then again it’s because I can.

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Have always done my own maintenance and repairs. Pretty easy to do. Do a search on this Midsize section for a free Maint. Manual download. When changing your oil , use the correct grade,weight and a good filter ( or just use the Scout oil change kit). And always save your receipts . Get a small notebook to keep dates,mileage and any other notations, changes you make, modifications,etc. Not trying to take anything away from the dealers. I used to wrench for a living. Just in my opinion, I see a lot of inexperienced mechanic wannabes now-a-days. I trust no one else to do any work on my vehicles or bikes., but then again it’s because I can.
I’ll do that .. and thanks .. I used to be a mechanic too for a living but financially , is the oil and maintenance items cheaper to do your self? ( I ask from Indian being a premium line and that’s my reasoning for asking )

·
Registered
1,291 Posts