Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all!
I'm looking to do some serious engine upgrades to my scout soon. I want to make my bike MINE and a stock Scout will not do.

I am familiar with engines, and am a pretty good small engine mechanic, however this is my first motorcycle, so I am very new to this field.

I already have the stage 1 pipes on it with the ECU flash to accompany it from Indian. So now I have been swimming in research up to my neck about air intake upgrades and a fuel management system.

As far as Intake goes the Trask is obviously the only mass produced one being made at the time. But there is also the Warbonnet single which is a modified K&N and there is a Gentlemen making a newer K&N modified filter named George Hartzell. His looks a bit more put together and impressive and will be getting dynoed quite soon (I'm pretty partial to his design so far, theres no doubt in that). So at this point I guess I'm a bit stuck until I see those results. D: Also, I've ready about the speed density systems and the MAP sensors so I don't know if I can "safely" (that's a bit of a strong word for what I'm really describing) run an air intake with stage 1 pipes without a fuel managment system.

(I've included photos of Mr. Hartzell's intake [Has the external breather and black tubing] as well as the warbonnet, both of which require no modifications to make them fit under the tank)

Finally on to the PC5 vs. Dobeck debate. I am not planning on racing this bike, but I feel like the Dobeck would not be accurate enough to tune with the modified exhaust and air intake. And I DO plan on installing cams once they are available (I've heard some rumors for within the next 6 months). Though I don't want to go overboard with a PC5 and pay a TON of money for custom dyno tuning and map making

Any and all advice are welcomed!