Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Founding member / Distinguished
4,503 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This morning I decided to ride to work. I have the Roadmaster parked in the garage on a rubber mat. I was running through my head what I had to do at work. I climbed on the bike, put the kickstand up hit the power button and cranked it up. I was going to let it warm up so I got off it...with the kickstand up. The bike promptly fell over on the left side and I am rather embarrassed by doing something so stupid. In 43 years I have never done anything like this before. That said I learned:
1. The front and rear crash bars work. No damage to any of the body work.
2. The bike is heavy. I got it up and on the kickstand by myself but adrenaline certainly helped.
3. I'm happy I park it on a rubber mat as I think that kept the crash bars from getting scuffed.
4. Finally, once you hit your starter button keep your head in the game and concentrate on the bike and riding.

I wasn't going to post this but figured everyone would like to know the crash bars do work. Have a great and safe weekend. Clif

·
4,064 Posts
that's good to know, I dropped my Goldwing in the garage one time and the floor was so slick it took both my neighbors to keep it from sliding while I picked it up.

·
Super Moderator
4,867 Posts
Glad everything is ok clif. I did something similar, didn't push the kickstand all the way forward. I'm very thankful I had a couple of my old office chairs in the garage and I had been sitting on one of them cleaning away on the left side. The bike fell on the soft, cushy office chair. :eek:

·
Registered
1,095 Posts