Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
418E50F6-29C4-4311-9E68-016B795CE208.jpeg
I updated my Ride command system a couple of days ago on my 2018 Chieftain Limited. All went perfect with that.
Now I tried to update the maps and I get an “ Invalid Package” you need to restart your screen error. The current map update shows oct2016. It works good just wanted to update to latest and greatest. Has anyone had this issue yet? Any fixes that you now of? Any info would be appreciated!
What I’ve done so far.
Created key, downloaded file went back to bike and attempted to upload file. ERROR
Completely formatted usb drive tried again. ERROR
Tried with 2 brand new usb drives. Same results.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
I updated mine before they had all the problems with peoples screens going blank on my 2018 Chieftain and had no issues. But I do remember the Indian USB drive wouldn't work for me.
 

·
Bronze member
Joined
·
4,300 Posts
Many of the Indian flash drive suck b%@@#$$. Most including my self had the same problem and using a reformatted 32-64 GB flash drive fixed the problem
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
View attachment 471252 I updated my Ride command system a couple of days ago on my 2018 Chieftain Limited. All went perfect with that.
Now I tried to update the maps and I get an “ Invalid Package” you need to restart your screen error. The current map update shows oct2016. It works good just wanted to update to latest and greatest. Has anyone had this issue yet? Any fixes that you now of? Any info would be appreciated!
What I’ve done so far.
Created key, downloaded file went back to bike and attempted to upload file. ERROR
Completely formatted usb drive tried again. ERROR
Tried with 2 brand new usb drives. Same results.

I just did mine and got the same message. I use a Mac and then realized I never downloaded the update to the USB. Once I did, everything went good and quick. Ensure you saved it to your card
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Just updated the maps on my 2018 Chieftain Classic. I had an issue where the firmware update went great using the Indian usb thumb drive but I kept getting errors trying to update the maps. I bought a scan disk 16 GB thumb drive and it worked!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
 

·
Bronze member
Joined
·
4,300 Posts
Just updated the maps on my 2018 Chieftain Classic. I had an issue where the firmware update went great using the Indian usb thumb drive but I kept getting errors trying to update the maps. I bought a scan disk 16 GB thumb drive and it worked!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

The new thumb drive seems to be the number one solution to most of the software update issues.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Ok, I'm not saying y'all are wrong. I'm just saying that I got the same error - Invalid Package. (For some reason, my wife thought that was a funny)

Seriously, (and after I was able to get her out of the garage so she could continue her laughing inside), the error had nothing to do with the USB drive I was using. I tried several.

Best as I can tell, the file that was downloaded by the Map Toolbox was bad. I was using my Mac and the download was interrupted during the process and then finished. I took it to the bike per instructions and "Invalid Package". I re-formatted several different USB drives and tried each of them and it seems that the Map Toolbox would not download a new file but it would keep trying to write the same file to the new thumb drive. I re-booted the computer and still "Invalid Package". For some reason, the Map Toolbox keeps trying to write the original download even though I thought I had removed all traces of it.

Now the cussing began in earnest.

So....I went to my Windows laptop and started all over again for about the sixth time but for the first time on Windows. I downloaded the Windows version and followed the instructions (again).

Holy Private Parts, Batman, my Package was no longer Invalid!

Again, I'm not saying the thumb drive(s) aren't the problem in some (many) cases. But, in my case, I'm pretty sure the original download on the Mac was bad and I couldn't get it to re-do it.

All's good now and the dog can come out from under the bed.
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
724 Posts
View attachment 471252 I updated my Ride command system a couple of days ago on my 2018 Chieftain Limited. All went perfect with that.
Now I tried to update the maps and I get an “ Invalid Package” you need to restart your screen error. The current map update shows oct2016. It works good just wanted to update to latest and greatest. Has anyone had this issue yet? Any fixes that you now of? Any info would be appreciated!
What I’ve done so far.
Created key, downloaded file went back to bike and attempted to upload file. ERROR
Completely formatted usb drive tried again. ERROR
Tried with 2 brand new usb drives. Same results.
I think updates cost after so many years. Not sure. I had trouble first time I did a map update, I finally went and got a 32 GB USB drive, that solved it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
375 Posts
Anyone have the most current software package #? I'm trying to determine if mine is current or my RC gremlins are due to the system needing to be updated...
Thanks in advance


Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Thanks for all the input. Still Having same problem with all above suggestions. I'm going to Indian dealer tomorrow to see what they say. If no results I'll call Indian support and see what they say. Like I said maps work ok just riding through a field where now there are roads according to GPS. Maybe need lift kit and knobby tires? LOL
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Thanks for all the input. Still Having same problem with all above suggestions. I'm going to Indian dealer tomorrow to see what they say. If no results I'll call Indian support and see what they say. Like I said maps work ok just riding through a field where now there are roads according to GPS. Maybe need lift kit and knobby tires? LOL
I thought I had the same issue, but found the nav display was simply not zoomed in far enough. Try zooming in a couple clicks on the flat knob and see if that does it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
I'm also getting the InvalidPackage on my 2018 Dark Horse. I had the original Indian drive and tried several times each same error. I grabbed a scandisc drive formatted fat 32, went to the bike created a new key, deleted old saved routes and redownloaded the map update via computer and updated the map on the bike. This worked for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
If anyone comes across this thread as I did via a google search for "invalid package" while trying to update the maps on their Indian with Ride Command, I'm just trying to keep this thread fresh and relevant. The problem still exists, I've been battling it for the last few hours. I've tried any and all combinations of the above recommended solutions that have apparently worked for others in the past. No such luck for me however. And I just made a special trip to Target for a brand new never been used SanDisk USB drive as well. It still didn't work.

I was on the phone with customer service earlier today for this issue as well as a separate software issue. That individual was literally reading me posts from THIS thread trying to help me with the problem...SMH...That's not why I placed a telephone call to an actual person...I'm proficient with google myself thank you very much. I was expecting insider, manufacturer help.

The plan for tomorrow is to call customer service again when they open hopefully getting a different individual that can either provide better help or put me in contact with someone that can. If that doesn't prove to be fruitful then I plan on calling the local Indian dealer to see if they have a suggestion or if I need to bring it in.

No matter what, when I finally figure out a solution I'll definitely post it here. Good luck.
 

·
Bronze member
Joined
·
4,300 Posts
If anyone comes across this thread as I did via a google search for "invalid package" while trying to update the maps on their Indian with Ride Command, I'm just trying to keep this thread fresh and relevant. The problem still exists, I've been battling it for the last few hours. I've tried any and all combinations of the above recommended solutions that have apparently worked for others in the past. No such luck for me however. And I just made a special trip to Target for a brand new never been used SanDisk USB drive as well. It still didn't work.

I was on the phone with customer service earlier today for this issue as well as a separate software issue. That individual was literally reading me posts from THIS thread trying to help me with the problem...SMH...That's not why I placed a telephone call to an actual person...I'm proficient with google myself thank you very much. I was expecting insider, manufacturer help.

The plan for tomorrow is to call customer service again when they open hopefully getting a different individual that can either provide better help or put me in contact with someone that can. If that doesn't prove to be fruitful then I plan on calling the local Indian dealer to see if they have a suggestion or if I need to bring it in.

No matter what, when I finally figure out a solution I'll definitely post it here. Good luck.

Was the Scan disk formatted to Fat32? Chances are it wasn't. Fat32 is an old but still widely used file format on many infotainment systems. Most USB drive disks today are formatted to the modern exFAT file system which are not compatible with Ride Command 2019 and earlier.
utilities on the web.
Also the majority of Windows 10 computers no longer have the option to format disks using Fat 32. But there are a lot of free fat32 format utilities on the interwebs.

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Sorry, but this is a pet peeve of mine. The brand name of the USB drive everyone claims is the solution is "SanDisk" not Scan Disk.

Also, in that very brief time since my last post I may have figured out what my problem is...

After I successfully create the update key on the USB drive on the bike, and plug said USB drive into the computer I'm greeted with this message in Map Toolbox:
indian2 (2).png
Leading me to believe exactly what's it's telling me -- that I do, in fact, have an update available.

However, after going through the next step at least a dozen times today I finally realized when I click the download button it's not actually downloading the map update. It says it does, but it goes too fast. The update should be several gigabytes...After I click that download button the whole next step takes 5 seconds max. It SAYS 100% downloaded. It SAYS 100% transferred to USB. But it's not doing it. No way.

So I started digging a little further and found this:
indian1 (2).png

{Insert sad trombone sound here}

Looks to me like my 3 years of map updates expired back in April of this year. You snooze you lose I guess.

A good piece of software wouldn't tell me I had an update available and make me think it was giving it to me error free.

Oh well. I'll still follow up tomorrow with a phone call to confirm my suspicions but I no longer think I'm getting an actual error during the update.
a22.jpg
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top