Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2018 Chieftain Limited with many upgrades. It looks like a Road Master at this point, minus the lowers. Recently, when the Indian demo truck was at my local dealer, I took the Harley vs Challenger demo ride. I was impressed by how much power both bikes had compared to my Chieftain. I had never thought it was really slow, but it did always seem sluggish to me.

I have read many threads in these forums. I thought I understood what I wanted when I started researching, but it has resulted in me being more lost than ever. I am not a hard/fast rider looking for the most possible HP from my bike. I am also not mechanical and cannot do the work myself. I write software for a living, not fix/repair bikes. I literally do not know what a cam does, what a header is for, etc. I accept my ignorance and I hope you can too.

I am asking for input and assistance from the incredibly giving and knowledgeable people on this forum. I will list the items I would like to upgrade to, with the hopes of getting advice that it is a good upgrade, or maybe good but needs something else, or avoid completely. I am in California though I hope to change that in 1-2 years -- Florida is waiting for me.

The current motor, exhaust, and air intake are stock.

Exhaust
The first upgrade I wanted to start with is to get Rinehart exhaust pipes. I found the 4" slip-ons for $700 (Chrome with black merge end caps). But, then I found the Slimline Duals Header Kit for an additional $750.

• Do I need both?
  • I have read in some message that slip-ons are not good. If not, then what is?
Air Intake