Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for advice on a tune (and I know nothing about getting one or installing one) for my Indian. I'm a novice on anything involving tuning a motorcycle. But having said that, I recently purchased a 2020 Indian Roadmaster Darkhorse and upgraded to Stage II cams, fuel mapping and exhaust by my local Indian shop. Despite all of this, I'm still disappointed at the step down I had from the torque/horsepower (and gut wrenching brute strength) that I had with my 2006 Triumph Rocket III T. I could roll that throttle, at any RPM, and it would respond in kind. This Darkhorse, even with the Stage II, really bogs and takes a lot longer to respond.

I've put about 3500 miles on the bike since the upgrade to Stage II (had Stage I installed at purchase) including a 2800 mile trip to the Hill Country (Twisted Sisters) from Eastern Tennessee. Great ride, VERY HOT, but lots of opportunities at varying speeds to confirm the drop of throttle response. Also, I'm DEFINITELY going back to a Russell Day Long saddle (that was not pleasant).

I'm a very large man, former collegiate OL, and at 320 lbs am much closer to a 2-up rider than single. Still yet, I purchased this bike, with this motor (116 ci), and the upgrades to not beat the Triumphs brute strength, but to lessen the drop off. Any advice is appreciated...

·
Bronze member
4,886 Posts