Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 132 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was a dairy farmer for 32 plus years and shipped my milk to Land O Lakes. If you have ever seen the products in the dairy section of a grocery store you've seen the Native American Woman in it. Well it is being replaced after 90 plus years. So my question is will our Indian bikes be renamed next???

·
Bronze member
2,011 Posts
Land O Lakes change story

I think I’m going to genuinely miss seeing her in the dairy section at the grocery store.
And I don’t say that because of what people used to say about her knees being able to be folded up on the box to her chest (if you haven’t heard of that before it might be too late now to try it). :sneaky: :LOL:

Seriously though it’s unfortunate they couldn’t have modernized it in someway, like the way Morton salt has always kept the umbrella girl.

Anything Indian tends to be in homage to Native Americans. I believe that’s what Hendee Manufacturing was thinking originally, having come from a time it was still a fresh subject on their minds. As archaic and ’wrong’ it may be.

Probably the only thing that could change it would be extreme measures by the politically or ethnically correct people.

egads. Have you seen the new Land O Lakes commercial? I have now.

Hate to say it but that right there hints as to a reason for removing the old (young) Indian girl.
They sing and dance to praise the modern female farmer. Ignoring the heritage of the Minnesota land they are working on.
At least that’s my take on it.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I agree but do you think Indian Motorcycle will be next?? If so what will they call our bikes?? Its only a matter of time and I believe we will lose the name.

·
Bronze member
2,011 Posts