Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello again friends!

I'm wanting to do some performance upgrades, including ditching the stock exhaust. But in my first year of ownership, I'm still struggling to learn the lean angle when cornering. I don't consider myself hard on my corner angles but clearly I need to make adjustments in my riding style before I change pipes.

Attached a photo for reference, but I'm hopeful someone can offer some suggestions for cornering properly on this thing so I can stop scuffing my pipes up.
20210718_112018.jpg

·
Rider
918 Posts
I'm no expert, but if you shift a little of your weight to the inside of the bike, the bike won't have to lean as much to make a given arc. Make your body adjustments before you get to the corner.
No need to hang your ass off, even upper body shift makes a diff.
No expert here, its just physics.
Were you riding two-up?

·
Registered
112 Posts
Also, do you air up your rear shock once in awhile?
Even with my wife on back, I'm not sure I could chew up the pipes like that unless I dreamed I was knee-draggin' an R1.

·
Founding member / Distinguished
5,194 Posts
If you don't ride hard on the corners then my first thought is body position. If you're st1ff on the bars or lean opposite from the corner you will need to lean the bike further over. This is why you see motorcycle racers hanging off their bikes. Here is a perfect example of what not to do. Notice how the biker is keeping his left arm stiff which keeps his body high and centered on the right side of the bike.

You don't have to do anything radical like this guy starting at t2:13 in this video

or even moving you butt around like this guy

Simply bend the inside elbow and remember C.O.W (Chin Over Wrist) or "kiss the mirror" which every is easier for you.