Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Leaving a gas station and they had a metric ton of loose gravel going onto the highway. Talking those tiny grey fuckers. Somehow the bike slid out in a low side and I managed to drift it for about 5 feet until I just lost it. Only damage, somehow, was to my left foot peg and mirror. I guess those superbike classes and learning low sides finally paid off

79561436-F01C-4EFE-A111-C0580CC92134.jpeg
5B0F6555-3BD3-4DA0-99D0-36E7B6C18B84.jpeg

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
I hate that stuff. Should be banned on roads, or as any kind of filler.

My worst experience with that was back in the early 80's, I was a road salesman in Pennsylvania. Heading South from Scranton down into Stroudsburg, a 20 ton dump full of it about a mile ahead of me started having a minor hydraulic leak in his dump system. Slowly, slowly, the bed started lifting, dropping a thin layer of the stuff on the road in front of me.
I felt the steering of my company car go at the same time I heard all the little rocks hitting the bottom of the car. I started noticing cars all over the shoulder, up on the banks, etc.
I just let my foot off the gas, popped it into neutral, and tried to keep it straight. No anti locks on an 81 Monte Carlo!
I drifted to a stop just a few hundred feet short of the truck, which now had a bed totally lifted, with the driver standing to the side scratching his head. A State Trooper was parked behind him, writing him up.

Luckily, it seemed that no one hit anyone else, save for the poor people who skidded off into the shoulders and grass.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I hate that stuff. Should be banned on roads, or as any kind of filler
Yea this was a road redone recently, so there’s a large area of it at the intersection. Like I said, no need in fighting it, so I just tucked my leg to where it wouldn’t get mangled and just let it go.

·
Registered
2,103 Posts