Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first time here and I wanted to know. I am about to return to motorcycling after an absence since 1998. I really like the Indian Chief but since I haven't ridden one yet I was wondering if there are any new/returning riders who have purchased on and their feedback and experiences. Would the Chief be suitable for a returning rider? I have ridden everything from dirt to 1500 cc cruisers but my last bike was a 750 Spectre. Any input would be a blessing. Thanks!!!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Not meaning any disrespect here but if it were me not being on a bike for 16 years first thing I would do is take a licensing course to reacquaint yourself with riding again. Not knowing if you already have the endorsement on your license. Once I did that I would find a dealer close to me and take a demo ride.These are well balanced bikes but 800 lbs can be a handful. Most dealers won't let you test ride one without endorsement and safety gear.

·
Texas Hill Country
4,697 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

I think Indian is the perfect choice...but which Indian?
Have you seen the new Scout?

Reactions: Indijoe

·
Founding member / distinguished
2,752 Posts
I recently returned to the riding scene after about 20 years. In the past, I rode everything - dirt/street, big and small. In January (yes, JANUARY) I took a mc course. In February, I bought a Heritage Softail.
In June, I bought my Chieftain. it was no problem jumping on the Heritage after so long and the Chieftain was even easier to ride.

·
Registered
2,620 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Depending on your current situation (health, core strength, ability to balance...sorry, at my age these are things to consider), an 800 pound bike might work for you. Getting your "sea legs" back on a smaller machine wouldn't hurt either. In any case, good luck and enjoy that new Indian whenever you decide to purchase it.

·