Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to riding and want to learn more about the history of Indian. Can anyone recommend a good book or resource out there?

·
Registered
506 Posts
You can go to Youtube .com and type in History of Indian Motorcycles. There's plenty to watch, then go to the Indian manufacturers web site, and watch their video's on indians. This should help...

·
Super Moderator
5,864 Posts
two good books i read are:

. . .The Harley-Davidson and Indian Wars by Girdler
Hmmm . . . you mean Indian never lost and only withdrew to regroup? No truce? No cease fire?
By the flavor of many posts I think the war rages on - much like the War of Northern Aggression!;)

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2,048 Posts
Good evening,
A very good book about bringing an old Indian back to life is " Rebuilding the Indian" by Fred Haefele.
--- Randall

·
Registered
723 Posts
Quinn, be nice now. Just because we are south of the Mason Dixon doesn't mean we have the right to complain. However because we are near DC... that give us the right to complain!:D

·
Registered
77 Posts
I agree with all of the above. I am going to add Jerry Hatfield's "Illustrated Indian Buyer's Guide". Incredible photos, but he has these boxed sections titled "Riding a 19XX Indian" and takes you on his personal experience of riding that specific Indian and he does this with Indians from every phase of the brand from a 1908 single through a 1949 vertical twin.

·
Registered
7,995 Posts

·
Bronze member
1,498 Posts
Little bit off-topic, but is there a museum specific to Indian much like the Harley Museum in Milwaukee (which is a fantastic museum, by the way)?

·
Registered
7,995 Posts