Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, maybe this has been asked before but in my search of the Indian forum I could not find an answer. Maybe they need to design a better site search engine or what...

I'm 52 and I've been riding for three years, finally got my 'forever' bike - a 2019 Chieftain Dark Horse(white smoke) last summer. I went through a Honda Rebel as my first bike, stepped up to a Scout, and then graduated to the Chieftain. In one year I have done 4,000 miles.

I was attracted to the Indian brand because to me it was something different from the crowd. More than half the people out there are riding Harleys, and that seemed cliche. Plus, Indian has better technology in their bikes and Harley seems scramble to keep up with Indian's offerings each year.

My one woe is the sound of the Indian with the stock pipes. Pillory me if you will, but I have to admit that I do like the Harley pot-TA-o---po-TA-o sound. My bone stock Chieftain has a sound that is linear , almost no rhythm. It almost sounds metallic. It reminds me of the Honda Rebel I started with, but a bit louder.

So my question(s) is/are this: what can be done to make the 111 engine sound more "po-TA-to--po-TA-to-ey"? I have considered getting the Stage 2 cams/exhaust but from what I've seen on Youtube etc. the sound ends up being more of a 'PA-ta-to--PA-ta-to' sound instead of 'Po-TA-to Po-TA'to'. I don't need the extra power for the kind of highway/state road riding I do, but yes it would be nice :). And yes, I know that the rhythm on the Harley is their patented single pin/valve combo so the rhythm can not easily be imitated.

Anyone done this? How close did you get?

·
Bronze member
4,158 Posts