Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 266 Posts

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
You asked for it, and you got it! I am proud to announce that we have added a section dedicated to the Gilroy Indians. This era of Indian Motorcycles were produced by the Indian Motorcycle Company of America

These Indians were manufactured in 1999 at the former CMC's facilities in Gilroy, California. The first "Gilroy Indian" model was a new design called the Chief. Scout and Spirit models were also manufactured from 2001. These bikes were initially made with off-the-shelf S&S engines, but used the 100-cubic-inch (1,600 cc) Powerplus engine design from 2002 to 2003. The Indian Motorcycle Corporation went into bankruptcy and ceased all production operations in Gilroy on September 19, 2003, thus ending production and this chapter of the Indian Motorcycle History.

·
Registered
1 Posts
My Gilroy Indian

I have been restoring and riding Indians since 1979. I have restored four 1947 Chiefs, one 1952 Chief and three 1953 Chiefs. Adding to that two 1941 fours and a 1942 four. I bought the Gilroy Chief after learning about the Black Hawk engineering work on the bottle cap engine, (was afraid to buy one without the upgrade). My Chief also has a Balance Master flywheel, single fire ignition as well as a bunch of other minor upgrades. To own a garlic Indian you need to have some mechanic skills but I love riding it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi,
I'm IronMan and need info on getting an Engine guard for my 2002 Chief Roadmaster. Does anyone have a PN# that would fit?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Gilroy 100PP

Hello,
If there s anyone out there that owns one of these bikes besides me. And you have a question or issue you would like to discuss please feel free to open he topic. I was part of this experiment in 2003 and I still have the bike. This Vintage makes H-P and runs very strong.

·
Registered
2 Posts