Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 96 Posts

·
Belgian rider
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I have read an article in the newspaper about a very old man still driving his car, and I thought by myself: ' at what age will I stop riding my bike?'
Think this old man is a good example for all of us what's possible. Keep on riding my Indian as long as I can, that's definitely my goal. Hoping we all can do !

·
Registered
152 Posts
I tend to disagree. I was a cop in South Florida and there were too many accidents involving seniors that had no business behind the wheel. Although I love my independence I hope I will recognize when the time has come to hang up the keys.

·
Belgian rider
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tend to disagree. I was a cop in South Florida and there were too many accidents involving seniors that had no business behind the wheel. Although I love my independence I hope I will recognize when the time has come to hang up the keys.
I follow your reasoning but believe me... it will be a difficult decision for everyone to have to admit that it is time to stop driving. It includes in many ways your independence, depending where you live and what could be the alternative.

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2019 Roadmaster matte black and gray
3,086 Posts
The tough part will be recognizing when you're no longer safe.

Denial is during in many drivers. Many younger drivers think they're good drivers. Even when there's a trooper (me) standing at the window as proof they're not.

·
Rider
1,262 Posts