Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 120 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just started riding on the road about a month ago. Before that I had just riding dirt bikes. A buddy of mine sold me a Indian open face helmet. I really like it a lot because that is what I always use riding my dirt back. He said everyone should have a full face helmet for longer trips on your bike. I ordered a Bell full face helmet and did not like it at all. I sent it back and order a Shoei full face to see if I like it better. What do you all wear? Is a man putting himself in a lot of danger by not wearing a FF helmet? What brand of helmet is your favorite? Sorry if this has been ask before. I am wondering if I can get use to a FF helmet.

·
Registered
378 Posts
I have a Shoei Neotec modular, and Shoei RJ Platinum 3/4 helmet. In the summer I wear the 3/4 because the full face is too hot. Obviously full-face helmets offer better protection, your choice vs protection/comfort. I kinda wish I had bought the Shoei J-Cruise 3/4 which comes with a full face shield for using in winter. Also, if you plan on installing speakers, make sure the helmet has speaker cutouts.

·
Silver member
3,323 Posts
Helmet shape matching your head shape (round vs oval, etc.) is probably the biggest factor for comfort. It's best to try on and not order online so that the fit is proper.

I wear a full face all the time. Actually a modular so that the front can flip up when you stop for gas etc., and it makes it easier to put helmet on and off. I would not wear full face only on long trips. You have to decide for yourself how much emphasis to put on safety. Heck there are a lot of guys (who frankly I think of as idiots) that wear no helmet at all and even do route planning to avoid states that require helmets. But they are free to make that choice of course, as was Gary Busey before he rescrambled his brains on a curb.

·
Registered
120 Posts