Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2017 Roadmaster and when I filled the fuel tank last wk it shows I have 45 miles till its empty, so I road it about 60 miles now it shows 80 miles till empty whats the problem

·
Bronze member
5,088 Posts
The fuel level sender on my 2018 Springfield started to get erratic and was replaced under warranty. Your bike might be showing a similar tendency.

Another thought is that for a while there you were riding with a heavy throttle, such as a long ride up hill or at high speed into a headwind etc. The computer worked out the range according to that fuel consumption. Then the road flattened out or the wind dropped and consumption improved and the computer has different data to work with.

On the other hand, perhaps this is what happens when the price of crude goes into negative territory like it did two weeks ago. It's what we all hoped for. :)

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The fuel level sender on my 2018 Springfield started to get erratic and was replaced under warranty. Your bike might be showing a similar tendency.

Another thought is that for a while there you were riding with a heavy throttle, such as a long ride up hill or at high speed into a headwind etc. The computer worked out the range according to that fuel consumption. Then the road flattened out or the wind dropped and consumption improved and the computer has different data to work with.

On the other hand, perhaps this is what happens when the price of crude goes into negative territory like it did two weeks ago. It's what we all hoped for. :)
Thxs for the ideas

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
If I have been doing a lot of in and around town riding, and then fill up and go for a long backroads ride, my fuel range will increase as I ride, for awhile, before it starts to go down again.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #5