Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just had the Freedom performance true dual sharktails installed on my 2018 Cheiftan Darkhorse 111 thunder stroke. Install went smooth bike started no issues or codes. Went for a ride up the road came to a red light geared down to first bikes idle dropped below 750 and stalled out. Started back up fine road down to another light geared down to first let off the throttle stalled again. The bike had now been flashed by the dealer twice and no one has a clue to as why this is happening. Essentially told me to just keep giving it a little throttle when waiting for the light? Doesnt seem like a pretty good fix. Anyone know what's going on? O2 sensors ? Does the bike need to be dynoed I'm at a loss here so much money bleed into this situation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No change to rpms. When I give it a bunch of throttle coming down to first gear it sputters and dies. It idles at 1100 but when I put it into gear and hold in the clutch with throttle in first it dips to 850 750 rpms doesnt die every time but it struggles all the other gears are good. Just being in first with the clutch in stalls it out unless I keep constant throttle while I'm stationary in first.
 

·
Founding member
2014 Red Chief Classic
Joined
·
969 Posts
Sounds like your clutch is still engaged slightly. With the motor off, try to backup in 1st gear to see if the clutch is dragging (compared to neutral).
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
1,591 Posts
I don’t think you can go from from a cated 2-1-2 headpipe then change into true duals with out adjusting a few things via a tune. I would think it takes more than a flash of the ECM . I’d call Fuel Moto and ask.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I don’t think you can go from from a cated 2-1-2 headpipe then change into true duals with out adjusting a few things via a tune. I would think it takes more than a flash of the ECM . I’d call Fuel Moto and ask.
I also had the Indian stage 2 air intake installed at the same time. Would that have any kind of effect like the one in experiencing ? I thought to myself I should have it dynoed.
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
1,591 Posts
I’m not a mechanic but yes when you went from the stock to an open air cleaner then changed not only slip ons but the entire exhaust system, essentially you just changed the entire give it air then get it out process. With these Indians when you change the air intake to a stage 1 you have have a calibration card as well. That in itself wouldn’t cause the issues you are having but it could contribute to its entirety. These bike have 3 stage mods. Full stage 1 is changing out the stock air intake and stock slip on mufflers. Stage 2 is when you add cams and Stage 3 is taking it from a 111 to a 116 Big Bore Kit. The factory ECM flashes leave a lot to be desired and the only real way to get them running smooth is with a Dynojet Power Commander Tuner and either help from here, fuel moto or a competent dyno guy. Spend the money get it done right, buy once cry once.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thank you for your time! And wise words I put in a call to a dyno specialist waiting to hear back. Also I should have mentioned yes I swapped out the air intake and exhaust plus they installed cams. So hopefully the dyno specialist can help me out!
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
1,591 Posts
Thank you for your time! And wise words I put in a call to a dyno specialist waiting to hear back. Also I should have mentioned yes I swapped out the air intake and exhaust plus they installed cams. So hopefully the dyno specialist can help me out!
There is the possible culprit....the Indian flash / tune for the Stage 2 cams. They are known to cause stalling issues even videos have been posted on YouTube. Get a tuner and you will be fine.
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
1,071 Posts
I agree with Corey, Power Vision 3 purchased from Fuel Moto, and a Stage 2 tune from CraigB1960, will be your best bang for the buck performance upgrade, that usually sorts most issues out and gives your Thunder Stroke optimizing of your existing parts.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
I agree with Corey, Power Vision 3 purchased from Fuel Moto, and a Stage 2 tune from CraigB1960, will be your best bang for the buck performance upgrade, that usually sorts most issues out and gives your Thunder Stroke optimizing of your existing parts.
The Mechanic who installed the exhaust cams and air intake strongly advised me not to get a commander ? What would the reason be for him being so so so against me getting one to get the aftermarket part on my bike working in sync with the rest?
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
1,591 Posts
Some dealerships say it voids the warranty but brother as soon as you get a tuner and a good tune you will be grinning like donkey eating sour briars
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
1,071 Posts
The Mechanic who installed the exhaust cams and air intake strongly advised me not to get a commander ? What would the reason be for him being so so so against me getting one to get the aftermarket part on my bike working in sync with the rest?
Power Commander is an open loop tuner.
Power Vision 3 is a closed loop tuner.

Getting the Power Vision 3 is a great way to go. The Sturgis Indian Tech who did my Stage 2 exhaust, intake, and Stage 2 Indian cams, and NGK Iridium plugs, recently rode my 2016 Chieftain after I used the PV3 from Fuel Moto and tune from CraigB, he was blown away at how this Thunder Stroke runs, responsive, smooth, Rev happy, strong torque curve, classic chunky idle, he said my Chieftain is a beast!! =)

He said he never would have known it was a TS111
 
  • Like
Reactions: cmoalem

·
Senior Member
Joined
·
175 Posts
The Indian tune does not work well with the Freedom Headers..............Get the PV3 and CraigB tune, as everyone else has suggested. You will notice the difference.
 

·
Founding member
Joined
·
1,505 Posts
The Indian tune that is put in the showroom bikes is very decent. Works good the way they're rigged. When you go to changing things like air intake, true duals, straight pipes etc their tune is sick and worthless. They should throw it in the river and apologize to the fish. Go with Loyds or Fuel Moto and get your bike to running right.

ANOTHER WORD OF ADVICE: Anytime you take your bike to a dealer unless it's Gregorys or someone equally as competent, tell them to leave your tune alone. If your bike is running good they'll screw it all up just because Indian recommends their newest and latest upgrade. You can go in and have a tire mounted or apiece of loose trim fixed and when you get on your bike to go home it's running like there's water in the fuel tank. Be firm about it. Say, "I only want my "X" fixed. Don't screw with my tuning". If you don't you're liable to leave with a sick bike.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
The Indian tune does not work well with the Freedom Headers..............Get the PV3 and CraigB tune, as everyone else has suggested. You will notice the difference.
Just got my pv3! Where do I go from here how do I contact CraigB ? Thanks for the suggestion on getting the pv3
 

·
Rider
Joined
·
1,071 Posts
Just got my pv3! Where do I go from here how do I contact CraigB ? Thanks for the suggestion on getting the pv3
Fill this page out, on the Request Type field drop down menu select >>> I need My First Fuel Map.

Next take the left side cover off the Indian >>> unplug the ECM connection >>> plug in the PV3 into it >>> chose read ECM on the PV3 >>> find the .stk file after the PV3 reads the ECM >>> plug your PV3 into your Computer >>> open the file system and locate the .stk file and copy it to a new folder on you computer dedicated to the PV3 >>> wait for an email from CraigB1960.

He is going to request you send him your .stk file in an email so he can look at it >>> he will then email you back your tune file to put back into your PV3 by connecting it back into your computer >>> take the PV3 back out to the Indian an connect it back up to the ECM connection to flash your tune file from Craig onto the ECM.

Follow Craig instructions, he will guide you, it's pretty easy
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top