Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
About to pull both tires off my roadmaster. I was curious as to what time frame would be a good estimate. Trying to decide if I am going to tackle this after work during the week or if I should wait for the weekend? I am not a mechanic but have done my share of shade tree work. So not a complete noob. From the videos and resources I have seen i would estimate about 2.5 hours. But I don't know if that is realistic or way off. I already got my crow foot for the rear axle and my 6 and 14mm Alan wrenches ready to go.
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I blew that up. I ended up taking between 7 and 8 hours disassembling and reassembling. It was much more involved than I anticipated plus first time always goes slower. I could cut. The time down alot now. However, I really missed my estimate. Thanks for the feedback.

·
Registered
458 Posts
If you are talking about simply removing the wheels then I can get both off in around 30 minutes, not seeing where the time is going for you guys. Longest part of the process for me is removing the front mudguard, but that’s only 10 minutes, two minutes to remove brake callipers, 30 seconds to loosen and pull the axle and the wheel drops out. This is assuming you have a suitable lift.