Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

Do you wear ear plugs on rides

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
2021 Scout Sixty
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I started riding again after 25 years of taking a break. Back then I rode a Yamaha SECA 750, stock exhaust, tall windshield and no helmet. I was in my mid 20's. I do not remember the noise ever bothering me.

Now 25 years later, I get a Scout, 3/4 helmet and V&H Twin Slash pipes. Holy Moly! I am so overly stimulated between the noice of the wind and pipes.

Is it just my age? Or does the helmet with no windshield contribute to higher noise levels. I finally upgraded to a 20 inch windshield and that helped a lot. But those pipes!!!

· Registered
2021 Scout Sixty
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #40 ·
Growing up the son of an eye doctor, my dad made sure I wore eye protection when hunting or shooting. Said nothing about the ear protection. Tinnitus sucks, but I still have some hearing left. I wear my Eargasm earplugs whenever I’m shooting, riding my bike or going to concerts. They allow me to hear conversation while blocking a significant amount of the higher decibel sounds. Rinehart pipes still sound good!
Funny you say that. I started wearing Earpeace and so far so good. With the 20 inch windscreen in front, I can hardly hear any wind noice. But those Vance & Hines Twin Slash pipes are still pretty loud. Almost too loud still...

· Registered
2021 Scout Sixty
73 Posts
Discussion Starter · #49 ·
Thanks for all the feedback. I have made two observations from the feedback here and my own personal experience:
  1. When I first got my bike I had no windscreen and the very loud V&H Twin Slash exhaust. At highway speeds, the wind noice would drown out the exhaust sound. I would say what I heard was 90% wind, 10% exhaust.