Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

Do you wear ear plugs on rides

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

Registered
Ear plugs are more or less important depending on helmet choice. Full face or modular help remove a lot of the noise that a half helmet doesn鈥檛 mitigate.
I think wind noise is worse than the exhaust or music I always hear.

That said, I usually do not wear ear plugs. I鈥檝e already lost a significant part of my hearing to work and hobbies.
Once your hearing is compromised, it鈥檚 permanent. You鈥檙e smart to be proactive instead of reactive.

Founding member
Wireless earbuds for me on long rides but listen to my Chieftain's sound system on in-town riding (stock pipes). I'd much prefer listening to music than the wind (or engine or especially exhaust). Your neighbors and fellow riders would also likely prefer you choosing quieter pipes, too.

Registered
2021 Scout Sixty
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I started riding again after 25 years of taking a break. Back then I rode a Yamaha SECA 750, stock exhaust, tall windshield and no helmet. I was in my mid 20's. I do not remember the noise ever bothering me.

Now 25 years later, I get a Scout, 3/4 helmet and V&H Twin Slash pipes. Holy Moly! I am so overly stimulated between the noice of the wind and pipes.

Is it just my age? Or does the helmet with no windshield contribute to higher noise levels. I finally upgraded to a 20 inch windshield and that helped a lot. But those pipes!!!

Registered
2019 Roadmaster
I would always wear foam earplugs when traveling on my Yamaha Roadstar. The pipes were a lot louder and the wind protection less than my Indian Roadmaster.

I've only done one small trip on my Roadmaster so far (200 miles.) I didn't wear earplugs, and even with the radio pumping tunes the overall volume seemed to be much lower than the Yamaha.

I will probably continue to wear plugs for longer trips. We'll see.

Rider
Disposable ones like these:

Font Automotive parking light Cuisine Food Electric blue