Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

Have you had battery issues with your Challenger already?

• Yes

• No

• Everyone has or will have issues

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Indian seriously needs to get this battery draw issue fixed on their bikes. I’ve been riding for over 20 years and have never had to keep a bike on a tender non-stop. Any bike that requires this has a design flaw. What good is having a gas powered vehicle that I have to plug in all the time. If I wanted to do that I would have purchased an electric vehicle.
I love the ride and power of this bike, but you can look for mine being for sale soon.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can't get my battery tender plug to work on my 21 Chally
Customers shouldn’t be having issues like this on new purchases. I wanted to give Indian a chance, but they are letting me down. I’ll probably be back with Harley soon. It didn’t have the great suspension like this bike, but at least it was reliable.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I have not had my Base Challenger on the trickle charger all summer and sometimes I only ride once a week. It generally kicks right off the first tap of the start switch.
Mine had been the same way. I thought all this battery discussion business must be a few speaking out. But then I didn’t ride mine for two weeks and the temperature dropped. Boom…I’m the newest member of the dead battery club.
What year and model? There was an issue fixed years ago in firmware.
2021 Challenger

·
Bronze member
5,269 Posts
Indian seriously needs to get this battery draw issue fixed on their bikes. I’ve been riding for over 20 years and have never had to keep a bike on a tender non-stop. Any bike that requires this has a design flaw. What good is having a gas powered vehicle that I have to plug in all the time. If I wanted to do that I would have purchased an electric vehicle.