Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Folks,

I'm planning to bob my rear fender on my 2016 Indian Scout Sixty and remove the large tail/brake light. I'd like to then move to either 2x LED tail lights and a slim LED middle run/brake light, or just 2x LED run/stop/turn lights on the sides.

I've seen a few posts around rewiring, but none have seemed to answer all of my questions and some of them have confused me more (I'm an electrical engineer by trade, so feel free to throw technical jargon at me).

My questions are the following:

1. If I start from the wiring bundle (remove the tail light and current turn signals), what is the correct wiring scheme to do either of the LED schemes I would like? I've heard this is based on CanBus and there is switched ground going on? In all my years I've never seen switched ground, rather, switched power and common ground.

2. What load levels can I have (wattage/current @12V) for the LEDs to not trigger an error code? I'm guessing since this is CanBus there is a current sense range required.

3. Anything else that needs to be considered?

Thanks in advance!

/Ben

·
Registered
Scout Bobber 2019
175 Posts
Hello Folks,

I'm planning to bob my rear fender on my 2016 Indian Scout Sixty and remove the large tail/brake light. I'd like to then move to either 2x LED tail lights and a slim LED middle run/brake light, or just 2x LED run/stop/turn lights on the sides.

I've seen a few posts around rewiring, but none have seemed to answer all of my questions and some of them have confused me more (I'm an electrical engineer by trade, so feel free to throw technical jargon at me).