Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have searched many places but can not find the answer, I know it's there and I may not be searching for the right thing.

I have a 2015 Scout and want to get rid of as much chrome as possible. I have a shop that does great ceramic coating for, what I consider, a fair price. Most of the items are fairly easy to take off, have coated, and put back on. However I do have some concern with the clutch cover and want to know what to expect before diving into the process.

How difficult is it to remove the Clutch Cover?

Is there anything I need to really be aware of?

It is even possible to even have it blasted and coated?

I am no master mechanic but can work my way around an engine. It does not seem like a difficult task (I've seen comments where people have purchased a new cover and had no problems swapping it out) but want to make sure this is something a backyard mechanic can do or if it's best left to the professionals.

I do appreciate your input on this and any advice is appreciated.

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2019 Roadmaster matte black and gray
3,086 Posts
If you're referring to the one on the right side if the engine, it's just the two bolts. No seals at all, as it's just a decorative cover. Should coat without issues....

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes the one on the right. Its not just that little round cover, but the whole thing. I think it has about 10-12 bolts and that smaller round cover sit in it. I dont think I need to remove the exhaust to get it off.

·
Registered
937 Posts
You might not even need to. I think if you take off the chrome cover there’s the painted metal underneath, like the 60.

·
Bronze member
1,919 Posts