Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 2014 Chieftain with 27,700 miles; purchased 11 months ago with 23,300 miles from the Indian dealer in St. Petersburg, FL where I live. . Heard an unusual rattling sound on the right side of the engine and took it in to Indian dealer; was told it's the tensioner, it must be replaced and I should consider replacing the chain as well. I'm not a mechanic and have only been riding for two years (rented several bikes before deciding on the Chieftain) but it seems a little early for this to happen at 27700 miles. I know it must be fixed. Comments & advice appreciated on how soon this may happen again, is it a chronic problem with this model, etc. Thanks.

·
Silver member
4,419 Posts
I doubt the chain has any issues. But do a search on this forum on the cam chain tensioner.

Indian has beefed up the cam chain tensioner twice since the birth of the TS111. The earliest versions tend to wear a bit faster than normal (yours), so they made a revision. And then a third revision after the big bore kit cam out. The third one is super heavy duty and would be what they replace yours with. Good news, it's not a terribly difficult repair.

Read this one:

·
Founding member / Distinguished
2,841 Posts
I own a 2014 Chieftain with 27,700 miles; purchased 11 months ago with 23,300 miles from the Indian dealer in St. Petersburg, FL where I live. . Heard an unusual rattling sound on the right side of the engine and took it in to Indian dealer; was told it's the tensioner, it must be replaced and I should consider replacing the chain as well. I'm not a mechanic and have only been riding for two years (rented several bikes before deciding on the Chieftain) but it seems a little early for this to happen at 27700 miles. I know it must be fixed. Comments & advice appreciated on how soon this may happen again, is it a chronic problem with this model, etc. Thanks.