Indian Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I am just getting started in the negotiation process. Looking at a 2014 Vintage - Black. Here is what I am getting initially from the dealer in Tucson

Bike 20,999
Set up 688
Doc 349
Trans 797
Mil Disc -1,000

total: $21,833.00

No other discount, includes 5 year warranty, this is plus tax, title and license.

My question is, what are you all paying for your bikes if you don't mind me asking? Would like to know before tax, title and license, as this varies by state.

With new model year around the corner, I am thinking I should be able to negotiate another $1,000 to $1,500 off of MSRP.

Your input is appreciated!

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
That setup fee seems a little steep to me.

The profit for the dealerships is in the Setup and Doc fee, so keep that in mind. I would have no problem paying a little more if I knew that they were going to take care of me.

The 5-year warranty is big too though. You will likely be taking the bike back to that dealer for any warranty work, so make sure that you don't burn a bridge, or at least make sure that they know that you know. Essentially your Mill Discount is eaten entirely by their profit. I would be interested to see what the fees are with folks that are not in the military are.

Do they know that you have seen the new color ways? Might be able to splash the pot and say that you are going to hold out for a two tone... You can always revert to the old one if they try to drop pricing on the 14's. Tell them, "Come on man, you have to make room for the 15's. Work with me on a 14, or I will probably hold out for a 15."

·
Registered
260 Posts