Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2018 Roadmaster with about 6,500 miles on it. So far, it's been trouble free; however, today I rode to my son's house about 15 miles away...I shut the bike completely off and stayed for about 15 min. When I got on the bike for my return trip, I has a blinking battery light. Traffic and road conditions did not allow me to pull off, so I went about 3 miles with the battery light flashing continuously. I stopped and completely shut down and then restarted the bike and everything was normal. The rest of the ride home was fault free. Whenever my bike is going to be sitting for 3 or more days I put the trickle charger on it. Could my battery already be going bad?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Chief Signguru,
Thank you for the response! I will check/tighten as necessary the cables under the seat; however, I think you nailed it for me when you mentioned the FOB. I certainly did not realize that the FOB not transmitting properly could cause a battery light. I've noticed over the past month or so that intermittently when I approach the bike to start it with the FOB in my pocket, I sometimes have to take the FOB out and shake it close to the bike to have the bike respond to it. Regardless of the situation with the cable connections, I will replace my fob battery tomorrow. Again, thanks for your insight/expertise!

·
Senior member / gold
6,951 Posts
Chief Signguru,