Indian Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie with just over a year under my belt. I have an Indian Scout and a 22 Indian Super Chief Limited. I installed after market pipes on my Scout and tonight I tried to install the Dean Speed Rampage pipes on my Super Chief.

I got the stock pipes off without too much trouble and thought I was in a good spot.

I had a heck of a time getting the bottom pipe on but got it on. I had a hell of a time with the top pipe. Used WD40 and a mallet to push it on.

Now, all the movement caused the pipes to not align (see pic). As lame as this sounds, my wife and I have been working at this for 45 minutes and we can't budge anything. Both pipes are mostly stuck in place. We can mallet them over a bit but we get one hole aligned (so we can insert bolts) but that throws the other one off. We just need to get the two bolts through the holes but we can't really twist the pipes as they seem locked in place. We can get one lined up at a time (the bottom one seems easier) and we can't budge them to pull them back off either.

I've watched YouTube videos and of course everyone says "easy project with no problems." I wasn't raised in a house where I was taught all these tricks so I am doing my best to pick up tricks of the trade. There must be some simple way to approach this so I don't have to completely remove the pipes. I'm swallowing my pride and asking for help. Any advice for how to align these holes so I can insert the bolts? Thank you.

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive exhaust Automotive design Rim

·
Registered
620 Posts